Skip to content

SAJ 100 Media Roundup

Read through SAJ’s recent media highlights as we celebrate our 100th year anniversary.

SAJ Centennial Shabbat:

JTA on SAJ’s Centennial: https://www.jta.org/2022/01/31/ny/manhattan-synagogue-marks-its-100th-year-as-reconstuctionist-judaisms-flagship

Rise Up: Bat Mitzvah at 100

JTA on Bat Mitzvah at 100: https://www.jta.org/2022/03/16/religion/american-synagogues-mark-the-100th-anniversary-of-the-first-bat-mitzvah

Washington Post on Bat Mitzvah’s Legacy: https://www.washingtonpost.com/magazine/2022/03/01/how-coming-of-age-ritual-jewish-girls-aided-rise-womens-rights/

Video of NBC Segment on Bat Mitzvah: https://mms.tveyes.com/PlaybackPortal.aspx?SavedEditID=6207ecb2-b197-4873-ba92-9c49ad4b3bbf

ABC News on Bat Mitzvah and Jewish Feminism: https://abcnews.go.com/US/bat-mitzvah-broke-barriers-jewish-women/story?id=83470116

NPR on Bat Mitzvah at 100: https://www.npr.org/2022/03/17/1086733010/bat-mitzvah-turns-100-coming-of-age-jewish-girls

Tablet Magazine’s Unorthodox Podcast Episode about Judith Kaplan: https://www.tabletmag.com/podcasts/unorthodox/episode-310-purim-bat-mitzvah-jewish-american-princess-stereotype

JWA’s Can We Talk Podcast on Bat Mitzvah at 100: https://jwa.org/podcasts/canwetalk/episode-71-bat-mitzvah-100

Jewish Exponent on the Evolution of Bat Mitzvah: https://www.jewishexponent.com/2022/03/17/a-century-after-first-bat-mitzvah-jewish-coming-of-age-still-evolves/

Kveller on Bat Mitzvah’s Impact: https://www.kveller.com/100-years-ago-the-first-bat-mitzvah-changed-jewish-history-forever/

Jewish Journal on Bat Mitzvah at 100: https://jewishjournal.com/community/346063/the-bat-mitzvah-turns-100/

Jewish Standard on Judith Kaplan: https://jewishstandard.timesofisrael.com/judith-kaplan-wasnt-ancient-history/

Hadassah Magazine on Bat Mitzvah Stories: https://www.hadassahmagazine.org/2022/03/07/100-years-bat-mitzvah-stories-hadassah-members/

Teen Vogue Article from SAJ’s Izy Lusk on Bat Mitzvah’s Legacy: https://www.teenvogue.com/story/first-bat-mitzvah-us

West Side Rag Article from SAJ’s Ava Stryker-Robbins on Rise Up: https://www.westsiderag.com/2022/03/01/the-first-bat-mitzvah-took-place-a-century-ago-this-month-in-an-upper-west-side-synagogue

Chutzpod Podcast Interview with Rabbi Lauren: https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/1-10-celebrating-100-years-of-the-bat-mitzvah-w/id1598186334?i=1000553674248

EJewish Philanthropy on Bat Mitzvah at 100: https://ejewishphilanthropy.com/bat-mitzvah-at-100-an-ongoing-revolution/?utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Your%20Daily%20Phil%20Monday%20March%2014%202022%20copy%2001&utm_content=Your%20Daily%20Phil%20Monday%20March%2014%202022%20copy%2001+CID_4e6d2885dedb87466e2cfcc38ecec50d&utm_source=Email%20marketing%20software&utm_term=Read%20the%20full%20piece%20here

Newsday on Bat Mitzvah: https://www.newsday.com/long-island/bat-mitzvah-first-jewish-faith-girls-1.50534396

The Conversation on Bat Mitzvah’s Legacy: https://theconversation.com/the-first-bat-mitzvah-was-100-years-ago-and-has-been-opening-doors-for-jewish-women-ever-since-178946

Religion News Service on Bat Mitzvah at 100: https://religionnews.com/2022/03/18/bat-mitzvah-one-hundred/

@JudithKaplan1922 Instagram Project:

JTA on @JudithKaplan1922: https://www.jta.org/2022/02/23/ny/a-new-instagram-account-tells-the-story-of-new-yorker-judith-kaplan-americas-first-ever-bat-mitzvah

The Forward on @JudithKaplan1922: https://forward.com/fast-forward/482891/instagram-new-yorker-judith-kaplan-america-first-bat-mitzvah/

Back To Top